Kenya Emerges Winner of UNSC

Kenya has won the United Nations Security Council elections (UNSC) as a non-permanent member. Kenya won over Djibouti during the 74th session of the United Nations General Assembly which took place in the United Nations Headquarters in New York.

The seat is one of the one of the five vacant slots reserved for non-permanent members.

Kenya won 129 votes against it opponent Djibouti which got 62 votes after forcing the second voting by denying Kenya the win in the first round on Wednesday.

The first round of election was conducted on Wednesday where Kenya got 113 votes while Djibouti got 78 votes against the required majority of 128 votes out of 192 member states.

As a result, the General Assembly pushed the second round of voting to Thursday to determine who will seat at the council as Africa’s representative.

Also Read: Museveni Congratulates Burundi’s New President as he Takes Oath of Office

Kenya’s candidature was endorsed by the African Union but Djibouti contested the endorsement.

This is the third time that Kenya is elected to UNSC. Kenya will replace South Africa for 2021-22 period.

Nairobi now joins the likes of India, Mexico, Norway and Ireland among the 10 non-permanent members. They will work alongside the permanent five (Russia, China, UK, US, France) to pass resolutions touching on global peace and security in the 2021/22 period.

Kenya is set to contribute its wealth of experience into the UN Security Council, writes Ambassador Raychelle Omamo, Kenya’s Foreign Affairs Cabinet Secretary.

Stay connected with us on Instagram
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on vk
Share on reddit
Share on tumblr
Share on whatsapp

Hi, my name is Goodness Pius.

I can help you grow your new blog into a real business that will produce consistent income.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *